Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

Sea. What kind of emotions does the sea or ocean make you feel? Do you remember the first time you went in the water? Had a wave crash on you? Felt the sand burn your feet? Do you feel more peaceful around water? Do you hate the beach? What’s the most interesting thing about the sea for you?

I haven’t been to many beaches which is somewhat ludicrous since I live in Central Florida now. There are certain beaches and certain times at beaches where I find it most relaxing and pleasant. I’m not one to enjoy big crowds. The first time I remember going to the beach was around 1970 when I traveled with a couple as their daughter’s companion/babysitter to the Gulf Coast of Florida (Tampa, St. Pete area). The next time I went with a friend of mine from Kentucky to Daytona Beach in 1974. The next trip was to the West Coast in 1988, although I didn’t go into the ocean at that time. We did stop at Pismo Beach, though.

California Coast 1988

California Coast
1988

California Coast 1988

California Coast
1988

I think my favorite beach was when we went to San Carlos, Mexico in 1990. The attorney I worked for at the time offered his timeshare condominium to us since his family wasn’t going to be able to use it that year. We jumped on his offer. I don’t believe I would do that now, though. We drove hours into Mexico and it was not a comfortable feeling at all. But the water was crystal clear and beautiful and the beach was private and rarely had people on it! Every morning we walked a couple of miles up and down the beach. Probably the last time I had a really good tan! LOL

San Carlos, Mexico 1990

San Carlos, Mexico
1990

The last beach we went to was Cocoa Beach (Florida). It’s pleasant but always crowded. Walking on the sand there burns my feet so I don’t go barefoot in the sand until I get closer to the water where it’s wet! I don’t swim in the ocean anymore — I’ve heard way too many shark stories around here!

Cocoa Beach, FL

Cocoa Beach, FL

Be sure to check out the other entries in the Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea!

21 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

  1. Flora Poste says:

    Dear Linda, what a lovely post with great photos! My parents had a cottage on the Dutch sea side and I loved it. My own sons have a few of their best youth memories there. I loved it when the weather was stormy, the salty smell and coming the beach for ‘treasures’. ♥ Johanna

  2. Thanks, Johanna! How wonderful a cottage at the beach would be. A dream!

  3. They are all inviting–nicely done.

  4. […] Photo Challenge: Sea | When Inspiration Strikes Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea | Travel. Garden. Eat. Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea | At least we made it this far… Weekly Photo Challenge : Sea | […]

  5. Oh wow, you dug out some old pictures. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  6. Sonel says:

    I would love to live by the sea but somewhere secluded and wake up to the sounds of the gulls and waves. 😀 Great shots Linda and lovely entry. 😀 *hugs*

  7. milaiski says:

    There’s always charm in seas which are yet to be populated and disturbed by humans, right? 🙂

  8. gpcox says:

    Calm – When I’m by any body of water a wave of pure calm comes over me. That may sound corny, but it’s the only way I can describe it.

  9. Rusha Sams says:

    Your top photo could be one of the best for this challenge. It depicts the sea with nothing more than the natural landscape surrounding it. Thanks for reminding me of how beautiful this area is! http://ohtheplaceswesee.com

  10. Thanks, Rusha. Your annual South Carolina coast vacations sound wonderful. It’s true – there is something so rejuvenating about the ocean!

  11. I watched Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton one wet afternoon in the ‘Sandpiper’ in the UK and loved the Californian coast. Thought it would be the same in Australia and I’d be sitting on my verandah half way down a cliff watching the waves. Have to say things didn’t turn out like I expected…

  12. Imelda says:

    Your first two photos look dreamy and romantic, just like in the movies. 🙂

  13. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

Leave a comment