Weekly Pet Challenge Wk #61

For Michelle’s challenge this week, I’ve got something a little different. I can’t say it’s a pet but it does come fairly often for a late dinner and helps itself to the cat food for the strays. This little critter may not be a cat but it is definitely a stray. I think it’s so cute. It doesn’t try to run away as quickly now when it sees me. I suppose it’s getting a bit used to my voice even if I don’t see it that often. Sorry the pictures are a bit fuzzy. The zoom on the iPhone isn’t the best. It tends to make things a bit grainy. But for some reason this little critter didn’t want me to try to get too close!

2014-09-17 Possum2_Fotor

2014-09-17 Possum_Fotor

I can wait. I don’t mind sharing cause I know there will be plenty. Also, I’m looking for my inside forever home if you want a cuddly kitty.

For information on participating in this challenge and/or to view additional entries, please click on the logo.

petchallenge logo

49 comments on “Weekly Pet Challenge Wk #61

  1. Good ole possums. We haveour share of them out here in the country!!!

  2. I like how your cat seems completely unbothered by the opossum.

  3. cindy knoke says:

    I saw a skunk do this once in my cats bowl at at old house, My cat just sat there and watched him chow down her food!

    • Smart cat! I’m not sure what I would have done had I opened the door and seen a skunk instead of this little critter! Just the thought of the possibilities of what could happen sends shivers down my spine! πŸ˜†

  4. Sue Slaght says:

    Linda I didn’t even know what it was! We definitely don’t have them here in the frozen north!

  5. Wait, the kitty is just sitting there allowing this? And they don’t bother each other?

    • I don’t know if that’s normal or not. But this particular little garage kitty is not at all feral. Every time I go into the garage and he’s there, he tries to just wrap his little self around my ankle. He just wants to be cuddled. I wish I could find him a home. sigh… πŸ˜€

  6. Gattina says:

    How sweet ! I would feed it too !

  7. Lignum Draco says:

    I’ll be honest, I didn’t know what that was until I saw your tags. Possums here look different and you tend to mostly see them at night.

  8. DailyMusings says:

    The possums we have are all white and very large- like the size of a raccoon. I can’t believe the cat is just sitting there.

    • I think this one is still very young. The adults are usually quite a bit larger. I would think it would be unusual but I suppose they made themselves a truce! This kitty is particularly loving. Sure wish I could find him a good home! πŸ˜€

  9. Oh, how I love possums..they are a bit magical to me. Their strange faces with the big eyes and the pointy snout, and that the fact that they are marsupial, so fascinating. Is this a young animal? The ones I have seen are all so much bigger and all sliver white.
    Your cat seems to wink at us….

    • Aren’t they just the neatest little critters! I’m sure this is just a young one. I’ve seen them smaller and I’ve seen some much larger. Probably a teenager! πŸ˜‰ This kitty is a laid-back little hug-a-bug. He’s not the least feral — at least with us. I do wish I could find him a loving home. sigh!

  10. Cute possum! And your cat is so adorable by letting him eating his meal πŸ˜‰ Sweet animals πŸ™‚

  11. the cat is totally nonchalant!! such a cute little possum!!

  12. becca givens says:

    I have at least one of those nighttime visitors — I am always amazed how my porch cats just sit and watch or curl up and go back to sleep!! πŸ˜€

  13. prior says:

    oh wow – you are SO the pet whisperer. how sweet this possum is – and your pictures just warmed the heart to see that you have this visitor show up. πŸ™‚
    quick little story to share… one day in ’87 – we went to pick up my friend dawn to go somewhere. Well when we got to her house she was still getting ready – and she comes to the door with this REALLY funny animal slippers on. Remember the type – the slippers with those huge animal heads at the toe? well we could not figure out what kind of animal it was…and we were all guessing and then she finally says “they’re possums” – and for years we joked about her possum slippers. anyhow truly a unique creature – ❀ ❀

    • Oh, yeh, I remember those slippers! Although I don’t remember any (o)possum slippers! I wouldn’t have thought they’d be very popular! Both her slippers and the real things are definitely unique creatures! haha! πŸ˜† ❀ Since they've been coming to my house, I have a new love and appreciation for them! ❀ Hugs!

      • prior says:

        yeah, well I have never seen any O-possum slippers since that year – but my son did get some giant Homer Simpson slippers a few years back –

  14. What an interesting entry! It is so good that he is getting tame. Thank you for taking part, Linda πŸ™‚

  15. Linda, one of these was hiding out in our trash can when I was a little kid, it scared the beejesus out of me. LOL!

    • I know! First time I saw one I walked around the corner of the house and we came face to face. We both screamed and ran opposite directions! Haha! It was more afraid of me! I didn’t know at the time they were gentle creatures with poor eyesight! πŸ˜€

  16. Paula says:

    And I thought you went for some posterize effect πŸ˜€ Interestings images, Linda. You are a welcome host indeed!

  17. inesephoto says:

    God bless all wild creatures who happened to live in urban areas!

  18. jademwong says:

    I love your black cat! Stunning! Was not expecting the possum xD

  19. Aww..what a cutie. I’d share my food too like I share with my hedgehog-furriend πŸ™‚ Pawkisses πŸ™‚ ❀

  20. Mustang.Koji says:

    You can have our possums too, Linda! LOL Had my USAF neighbor’s wife come tell me in the middle of summer that “…there’s a dead possum” in my front yard, next to the wall. Yikes! It was out there for about three days! Then two years ago, a possum got stuck in my garage and died under my car. Hadn’t driven it in over a week… Egads!

  21. yprior1 says:

    the terrier man sent this out and I had to share it here! ha!

    http://terriermandotcom.blogspot.com/2015/02/let-us-prey.html

Leave a Reply

