Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge: Nature

2014-01-05 Tamarind_Fotor

2014-01-05 Tamarind2_Fotor

The tamarind tree produces edible, pod-like fruit which are used extensively in cuisines around the world. Other uses include traditional medicine and metal polish. The wood can be used in carpentry. Because of the tamarind’s many uses, cultivation has spread around the world in tropical and subtropical zones. (Sourced from Wikipedia)

For additional information on participating in this challenge and/or to view additional entries, please click on the logo.

LOGO_Fotor_Fotor

32 comments on “Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge: Nature

  1. I’ve never seen such a strangely fascinating tree. They pods look like they could be converted to birdhouses as with gourds. Happy Photo Challenge.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Linda, I love tamarind candy, long time I don’t have one, now after seeing your post I’m craving it, I need it!

  3. Amy says:

    What an exotic fruit. I love these two photos. 🙂

  4. Sue Slaght says:

    Such interesting looking fruit! Edible and metal polish? Well there is a handy combination. 🙂

  5. Thanks for answering my question, “What in the world are those?” 🙂 Fascinating.

    janet

  6. Suzanne says:

    Great shots – I’ve often wondered what a tamarind looked like.

  7. Lignum Draco says:

    Kind of surreal with the snow on your blog falling on these exotic fruits. 🙂

  8. How unusual! I remember Tamarind…but I don’t exactly in what. Could it be a flavor of lemonade or cake??? I probably end up remembering it when I am doing groceries and call out “Eureka” and get strange looks from everybody…

  9. prior says:

    I agree wight eh other comments – strange and weird and super cool tree. I like your picture of it- especially that first one with up view of the vine and lines from the fruits being hung – 🙂 ❤

  10. Great shots Linda! I love tamarind juice 😀

  11. All the years we lived in Florida, I have never seen these trees before. So very unique!

  12. restlessjo says:

    What an incredible tree, Linda! I love the mystery of that first shot 🙂 I just had to scroll down!

  13. rommel says:

    I love tamarinds. It’s a favorite “snack” where I was born, in the Philippines.

  14. such strange looking potatoes hanging from a tree!! 🙂 Great shots Linda.

  15. Wow, I had no idea tamarind(s) looked like that. From the farther-away shot, they look like giant white pickles or butternut squash maybe (if not something sinister). Thank you for teaching me, Linda!

  16. Those seeds pods are pretty cool. I have seen them also in our botanic gardens.

Leave a comment