Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo

What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

Oh, my stars! When I opened up my email and saw this Daily Prompt, I actually laughed out loud.  The words to that song, Papa Loves Mambo, popped right into my head along with several others from the mid-1950s. At that time, most of the music I listened to belonged to my older brother (11 years my senior). I, of course, had songs such as “How Much is That Doggy in the Window” and other popular tunes from singers/actors such as Burl Ives, Gene Autry and Hopalong Cassidy. But the ones I remember most and thought of first when I saw this prompt were my teenage (then) brother’s records. I assume they were pretty much the hits of the day. Sometimes when I want to be silly around people now, I’ll start singing or saying the words to such tunes such as these:

Green Door

Me Make Um Pow Wow

Istanbul (not Constantinople)

Okay, if you’re through laughing, you can pick yourself up off the floor. Sheesh, I was only about six years old. Obviously, they were my formative years because the words and music stayed with me! Of course, it wasn’t long after that (probably somewhere around 1957-1958) my best friend and I taught ourselves how to jitterbug to some of these 1950s hits by watching American Bandstand!

Yes, I really do like a lot of the 50s music. But the truth of the matter is that I have always liked and will always prefer the sounds of the 1960s and 1970s. And that’s just the way it is — I mean the way I am! I’m not about to start listing all my favorites from my teen years. We’d be here all week!

28 comments on “Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo

  1. Imelda says:

    My children had just been introduced to the third song recently by my husband. However, he used a more recent version. For a few days, they played nothing but that in Youtube, so I was amused when I heard it here, too.

    Oldies music (a.k.a., music from our parents generation) are quite charming. IN my case, though I hated them when I was young because they were not the ‘it” music, now, I actually find myself to have a yearning to listen to them every once in a while.

    • I wasn’t sure if anyone would even have heard these (naive on my part, I know). I know what you mean about some of the old music. There are some of the big bands of the 40s that I really like now.

  2. Rosemarie says:

    I loved Green Door and Constantinople.

  3. […] Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  4. B.Kaotic says:

    […] Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  5. […] Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  6. […] Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  7. fozziemum says:

    Hahaah goodness me..well I grew up as a sixties child so for me things usch as What’s new pussycat Tom Jones…etc…my grandad loved bagpipes and jigs…remember tip toe through the tulips somewhere there also…I have grown to love all music..heavy metal..rock..classical…celtic..Spanish gypsy rumbas…yes Tom Jones…Neil Diamond..so I have very varied taste according to my mood…hubby is a muso and so are my three sons so I kinda have to go with the flow.i still have fond memories of old movies and their themes..Doris Day and Que sera sera..Dean Martin…everybody loves somebody sometime hahahahah goodness 🙂 great post 🙂 hugs Fozziemum x

  8. Sonel says:

    Same here Linda. I love the 60’s and 70’s music as well and in our house there’s a variety as well. We love music. Great post. 😀 *hugs*

    • Two peas in a pod, Sonel! Hey, I’ve missed you! Hope all is well. I’m afraid life has intervened this past week and I’ve fallen behind in reading my friends’ blogs! I’m in catch-up mode! Hugs to you! 🙂

      • Sonel says:

        Oh, the same here Linda and it’s always great to see your lovely posts. Aaah, life! Seems to catch up on us when we least expect it. LOL! I have a lot of catching up to do as well. 😀 *hugs*

  9. […] Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  10. […] Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  11. […] Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  12. Amy Pinkrose says:

    Linda, you are too funny! I prefer the music of the 70’s, and I still to this day listen to it. Like you I would be here all day long if I told you the entire scope of music I listen to. LOL I had my own little record player, which I bought from my working wages and I began my love affair of music. Dancing? Danced all night!!! Oh, yes, the Discos. Remember those? I just loved the strobe lights and the pulsing music. Ohhhh, for the memories. Thank you for walking me down memory lane. Love, Amy

    • Yep, just give me my classic rock and my oldies stations. I can easily do without the rest! Although I do really like so many different artists. I had started pinning music videos on my Pinterest board but I haven’t been on Pinterest for quite some time. And as my earlier post on dancing indicates, I used to dance a LOT (including disco)! hee hee!

  13. I know “Papa Loves Mambo” from a Perry Como CD I have haha. When I was little the first song on the radio I remember is “Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini.” And my mother listening to Bobby Vinton.

  14. acasadisimi says:

    Hi! thanks for following my blog i have just awarded you whith entertaintement award see the link below http://acasadisimi.com/2014/03/21/entertainment-staters-award/ greetings from Italy

  15. rommel says:

    Yup, oldies and 90’s pop. I can say my taste in music has evovled since then.

  16. […] Daily Prompt: Music To My Ears | Morrighan’s Muse 67. Music Moves Me | Step Into My Head 68. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS 69. Papa loves Mambo | fromdublintoparis 70. Manly music | Trucker Turning Write 71. The Fabric of […]

Leave a comment