Seven Day Nature Challenge – 2

Welcome to Day 2 of the Seven Day Nature Photo Challenge. I was nominated by my fellow blogger, Joanne at Coffee Fuels My Photography! to participate in this challenge.  Please check out her blog.

As you know, I’m supposed to post at least one photo per day for seven days, focusing on anything from the natural world and each day I’m to nominate a new member.  There is absolutely no obligation to participate.  For this post, I would like to nominate my blogging friend at A Day In The Life.

And, if anyone who follows me would like to be nominated to participate in this challenge, please leave a message in the comments …  I would be more than happy to nominate you. I know so many of you have already participated!

I hope you enjoy my nature choices! Here is DAY 2:

2016-04-02 Bird Nests_Fotor

Imagine our surprise when one day as we were exiting the house, we looked up and, under the eaves on the back porch, we saw birdy condominiums in three sizes. At the time there were no occupants so we were wondering if they would even be used.

2016-04-18 Bird Nests2_Fotor

Imagine how great our surprise was discovering that the largest nest is definitely occupied. Mama is there almost all of the time now. We have no idea how long it takes for any eggs to hatch. We try to be so quiet when we enter or exit but if we make a bit too much noise, she flies a short distance away. But, not to worry, she has always come back. This picture was also taken with my iPhone5 and, as you may know, it does not have an actual zoom lens. The picture was also taken through glass and between blinds. Seems any time I tried to stand out there with my camera, it was more than she would sit still for.

 

29 comments on “Seven Day Nature Challenge – 2

  1. Brenda says:

    Wow you are enjoying mother nature to the fullest love and miss you both

  2. Amy says:

    Thank you for sharing your joy of discovering the nest, Linda! Great iPhone captures! 🙂

  3. Joanne says:

    Sweet, how lucky are you to be the “chosen one” – wishing your chicks a safe arrival!😌

  4. carmen says:

    How sweet Linda! It usually takes about two weeks for them to hatch. You’ll enjoy watching them grow too and if you’re like me, you’ll be a mama hen and want to make sure they are safely all the time till they can fly.

    Happy hatching!

    ❤ carmen

  5. carmen says:

    How sweet Linda! It usually takes about two weeks for them to hatch. You’ll enjoy watching them grow too and if you’re like me, you’ll be a mama hen and want to make sure they are safe all the time till they can fly.

    Happy hatching!

    ❤ carmen

  6. How wonderful to have nature this close 🙂

  7. Lignum Draco says:

    Great find. Keep the cats far away, though.

  8. I love it, Linda. We’ve got several nests ‘going’ around the house. One robin builds her nest every year (I’m presuming it’s the same momma) balanced on our gutter where it comes away from the house. I almost can’t believe how acrobatic she must be. One year—I’ve got photos—a robin built her nest on our windowsill. So I got pictures of three squawking babies. [Then I left them alone so they wouldn’t be disturbed by this giant creature looking out the window multiple times everyday.] Keep the nature photos coming, Linda; they’re great!

    • Thanks, Leigh! Coming from city life, I’m just loving all of these nature experiences in my own yard! Can’t wait to see these babies. I may or may not be able to get pictures after they’re born but we’ll see. This is definitely one time I wish I had a zoom lens! 😄 🐣

  9. I love that they return every year. I imagine they probably just do a bit of nest cleaning before settling in again! Lovely shots and story Linda!

  10. kittiesblue says:

    We have two nests in the eaves of our carport that are occupied every spring and summer. Unfortunately no one has taken up residence this year. Tom sets the tripod up on the porch and puts the super long lens on his camera then comes in the house and fires it off remotely. He has gotten some incredible photos through the years.

    • We got swarmed with carpenter bees and had to have the exterminator come to treat our house so they wouldn’t bore holes in the wood and lay their eggs. We told him to work around the nest. He said it would kill the birds. We took a chance and brought the nest into the house. He told us all would be well after about an hour. After 1.5 hours we put the nest back in its place and prayed that mama would come back as there were three new babies in the nest. (I’ll post the pics if I can ever get caught up!) Well, mama came right back and all appears well❣🐣

  11. Prior-2001 says:

    reading this earlier (I am late to comment – but was here as noted) and well – your excitement helped me to chill because we have two nests on our gutters this pairing – and argh – I do not mind them anywhere else – but on the house freaks me out- so I chilled out after seeing this – and we will try and discourage them in the future – just so they do not damage the home – but for now they are welcome…. and may their work be blessed…..

    • You think you’re late? I’ve been so far behind since I posted these seven posts, it has taken me a month to catch up on everything! LOL! I do believe that my next post will be the follow-up to these little babies! 😀

      • Prior-2001 says:

        Oh that was nice to read and reminds me ((again)) about how flexible our blogs can be as they ebb and flow with our lives – as they can pause when/if we moved – can pause for a summer break – or can just be there – maybe like a creek or waterbed flow that has slower seasons and then other times has more full streams – hmmmm
        Looking forward to your update – xxoo

  12. […] just now getting around to actually writing about it. As you know, Day 2 of my Nature Challenge [here], I posted pictures of a little bird who was nesting in an alcove on our back porch. I must admit, […]

  13. DG MARYOGA says:

    OM,om,that’s not simply a Nature photo,that’s a sweet story with lovely photos,dear Linda!Mama looks great in the nest,you did superb work with your i-phone!It’s really so touching when they return and find their nests intact.I have to move quickly and read more of your heartwarming story 🙂 ❤ xxx

Leave a Reply

