One Word Photo Challenge: Autumn

Here in central Florida, we don’t get much of an autumn (or winter or spring for that matter!).  But sometimes there are tells like when the temperature averages about 20 degrees cooler than summer.  For example, our morning temps are in the 60s and afternoon highs are in the upper 70s.  And the humidity finally drops to livable. Here are some more autumn tells for central Florida:

This one is pretty much everywhere — PUMPKINS, PUMPKINS, PUMPKINS!!Pumpkins_Fotor

The changing of the leaves on the trees — okay, so there are no brilliant reds, oranges, or yellows.Autumn leaves_Fotor

And many of our trees shed their leaves and blooms this time of year, too!
autumn leaves2_Fotor

And, last but not least, all of the autumn decor appears everywhere! Of course, along with the autumn decor, come October we’re seeing Christmas decorations all in the stores now. sigh….scarecrow_Fotor

I must admit, though, after having grown up in Kentucky, I really do miss the bright colors of the fall foliage.

owpc-logo-

29 comments on “One Word Photo Challenge: Autumn

  1. Joanne says:

    After looking at that first photo I admit I have some SERIOUS pumpkin envy. I thought I had done REALLY well with my diving for pumpkins at the supermarket yesterday to get the biggest in the bins but they pale in significance in comparison to those first two. WOW! 🙂

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    I am chuckling at the ‘huge’ shift in temperature. I’m ready to start shovelling snow any day I expect. 🙂 Love those pumpkins!

  3. Festivity and nature go hand in hand. Good to visit you back Linda

  4. Now those are pumpkins, I can’t image the number of pies in each one of those.

  5. I’m glad that you get a little touch of autumn’s magic.

  6. Those pumpkins are huge! Fall can be fun no matter the lack of changing scenery. Glad you still have hints of it. Us Floridians have to create our own Fall atmospheres.

  7. milliethom says:

    Lovely photos – and your pumpkins are fabulous. I think I could enjoy a Florida autumn for a while, but I’d soon be longing for the autumn colours. Like you, I sigh (in exasperation) at the thought of Christmas being advertised already!

    • Thanks, Millie. And I could enjoy a northern autumn for a while and then I’d be longing for Florida weather! LOL! We won’t mention Christmas again for a little while, okay?! 😆

      • milliethom says:

        Right now, I’d happily fly to Florida – until it’s time for that word we aren’t going to mention! The family would never forgive us if we stayed away over that time! Warm weather and I are the greatest of friends. 😀

  8. ohlalalala, I forsee a lot of pumpkin pies there ;o) xo Johanna

  9. those pumpkins!!! Lovely autumnal pics Linda! even for Florida!!

  10. jennyskip says:

    The subjects of your photos look very familiar! The curious raintree! But I haven’t seen huge pumpkins like that around central FL….I’ve seen lots of pumpkins here that are yellow inside, like squash, rather than the more dense orange I remember from “up north”–:)

  11. Nancy says:

    Enjoying your blog! I like the different photo challenges!

  12. DG MARYOGA says:

    Lovely autumn colours and thoughts,dear Linda!The vibrant colour of the huge pumpkins nicely substitutes the deep fawn colour of the leaves and the carpet with the dropped leaves on,in your garden,is beyond beautiful!Happy Friday my lovely friend 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

