Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge

I’ve had these photos for a little while and finally decided that the only thing they’re good for is Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge! These mushrooms were growing out of the knothole in this old tree. I don’t think I’ve ever seen mushrooms like this. A few things passed through my mind while taking the photos — hungover sick tree; tree with forked tongue — you get the idea. πŸ˜› πŸ˜†

2013-11-15 Treeshrooms_Fotor

2013-11-15 Treeshrooms2_Fotor

odd-ball

 

41 comments on “Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Linda, great photos, I’d think the tree is the mother of the mushrooms, giving shelter and protectiong. πŸ™‚

  2. Mags says:

    I have never seen anything like that. Very nice pictures. Hugs

  3. Brenda says:

    Hi sis great & interesting picture

  4. fozziemum says:

    Awesome! found som funghi like that on hols…think I took a pic πŸ™‚ loves Bev xx

  5. LadyPinkRose says:

    Yep, I agree. These are oddballs all right. LOL Love, Amy

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    What an unusual find Linda. Definitely an oddball mushroom. πŸ™‚

  7. yprior1 says:

    oddball and I like the hungover take – ha!
    and this was such a fun find.

    also, I thought of you when I saw this post recently
    :

    https://abandonedinvirginia.wordpress.com/2015/01/04/the-mitchell-house-in-bedford-county-aka-oakland/

  8. Oddball indeed..it looks like the poor creature is seriously sick…maybe too much Birch Wine???;0)

  9. Cee Neuner says:

    How very odd. I’ve never seen anything like that before. I’ve seen mushrooms on trees…but not like that πŸ™‚

  10. kittiesblue says:

    These are super cool photos. Nature is always surprising us. Thanks for dropping by The Cat on My Head today. We hope you will become a regular visitor. We’ll let you know if you win the Lilly Brush. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  11. I love mushrooms, but I epuld guve these odd balls a miss. πŸ˜ƒ They’re definitely different.

  12. Sorry about the typos. My iPhone playing tricks on me again. Don’t want you to think I’m hungover. 😳

  13. This is so interesting. I’ve never seen anything like it before. 😊

  14. those are the most amazing growths aren’t they. They remind me of stepping stones sometimes as they go up!! Love!!!

  15. How bizarre. I have never seen anything like it. Thanks for sharing!

  16. Paula says:

    Amazing whatever its condition may be πŸ˜€

  17. orples says:

    These are usual shots, I’ll give you that … but well worth the share, so thank you. πŸ™‚ I’d say these shots could certainly start a conversation as to what that ‘brown stuff is’. It looks like someone packed dirt/mud into the tree. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

