Ladybug Ladybug

While driving to the store the other day, I had a close encounter of the memory kind. I’m driving along and suddenly something flew across my vision and onto my driver’s side car window (inside). Usually when I encounter flying bugs inside my car while driving, my initial instinct is to roll down the window and get them out. But, in my peripheral vision, I noted that this was no ordinary insect. This was a LADYBUG! Gosh, I haven’t seen one around in such a long time. The ones I was always used to seeing were red and black but that was up north. Perhaps the orange and black is the southern version? Or maybe the red faded in the hot sun! πŸ˜† Childhood chants came flooding into my mind:

2015-01-01 Ladybug 1_Fotor

Ladybug ladybug fly away home,
Your house in on fire, your childrenΒ will burn.

2015-01-01 Ladybug 2_Fotor

YOUR HOUSE IS ON FIRE, YOUR CHILDREN WILL BURN?? Now just how strange and morbid is that? All my life I’d said that superstitious little saying when I’d see a ladybug and never thought anything of it. Suddenly it sounded gruesome! I don’t think I was ever taught the last two lines. They’re just as bad:

All except one and that’s little Ann,
For she crept under the frying pan.

From Wikipedia:

There were superstitious beliefs that it was unlucky to kill a ladybird [ladybug in the U.S.], and that the verse would make them fly off.Β Β Another superstition states that you should chant the verse if a ladybird lands on you: if it then flies away again, your wish will come true. [This is the part I was taught!]

Ladybirds are useful as eaters of aphids,Β which would otherwise damage plants. They can also be a nuisance, but there would be logic from a farmer or gardener’s viewpoint in trying to shoo them away rather than kill them. This could be the rational basis for teaching children to respect them.

Hmm, I wonder if my wish will come true?

I found this short video showing in slow motion a ladybug taking flight. It’s actually after the 1 minute mark that it begins to fly!

In researching information on ladybugs for this post, I was amazed at reading and learning much of the history of some of these old nursery rhymes that children have grown up with over the past 100 years or so. If you’re ever curious, try Googling the titles of some of the Old Mother Goose Nursery Rhymes.

Ya gotta wonder sometimes…. Just what were they thinking??

LOGO_Fotor_Fotor

67 comments on “Ladybug Ladybug

  1. Linda, marvelous capture, especially on this blustering day. The winds are fierce and the thought of lady bugs brings a high surprise. These are seriously important insects in the ecosystem. Its soft color is curious. Thanks for the fascinating video. Happy Photo Challenge.

  2. Brenda says:

    really cute sis you are one of the kind, a very special person

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    They are red and black in Canada but currently hiding of course under the snow. Lovely post Linda.

  4. DG MARYOGA says:

    Such a sweet Ladybug story and a stunning detailed macro,dear Linda ! Amazed by its yellowish colour,I had the impression,like you, that they are only red.We get plenty of them in the garden in spring and they are supposed to bring you good luck.Also, tradition says that when children see them,they have to say a nursery rhyme where they ask Her ( it’s a She for us) to bring them new shoes for Easter.
    Lovely post my,sweet friend,nicely enriched with interesting info and a captivating video.The procedure of its flight in slow motion is totally stunning ! You so tenderly treated it,I’m sure your wish will come true … Happy Monday ! Hugs & kisses, Doda πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thanks so much, Doda, for coming by and leaving such a sweet comment. I will probably always say that little rhyme and make a wish when I see a ladybug. It’s just what I’ve always done forever. So, why stop now! πŸ˜€ Have a wonderful week! ❀

  5. DailyMusings says:

    love this. our lady bugs are red with black- sometimes I see them in the summer months.they are the only bug I can tolerate looking at!

  6. Cynthia says:

    I never saw a picture with a ladybug’s wings spread like that before! wow! I am finding ladybugs every day in the house still, lol. It happens every year when it gets cold.

  7. LadyPinkRose says:

    Linda, fantastic capture!!! And about those nursery rhymes …. I have caught a few myself seeing that the words are really awful. Are some nursery rhymes actually singing “curses” over babies? It is just a thought, for I really do know how powerful words are. Love, Amy

    • I ran across some histories of nursery rhymes while looking up the ladybug stuff. Amazing. For instance, Ring around the Rosy has to do with the Bubonic plague. Go figure.

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        How about … Rock a bye baby …. when the bough breaks the cradle will fall … and down will come baby, cradle and all? Whoa! Seriously, some of the words of “innocent” songs are shocking. Glad you are catching on. It’s time those words were changed, don’t you think? xx Amy

      • That one definitely came to mind. I suppose they could change the words…at the same time, we’re none the worse for it, eh? πŸ˜†

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        It’s just the thought now that makes me cringe, singing those horrible words to babies. The music is so soothing … with words that are violent. What gives with THAT? Hmmmm …….

  8. LadyPinkRose says:

    PS When I see Ladybugs in my house, I say “Oh goodie, good fortune is coming my way!” I too have never seen a pic of a ladybug spreading her wings. Quick on that shutter, Linda!!! Great capture!

  9. Ginene Nagel says:

    Fascinating how the delicate membranes of the ladybug’s wings are hidden safely under the armor of their hard polka dot wings.

  10. gpcox says:

    I often wondered who exactly thought up the nursery rhymes – spiders climbing up the water spouts, babies falling out of trees and your poor helpless ladybug with a house of kids burning up!! Fairy tales would scare the wits out kids if they really thought about the plots – they put Stephen King to shame!! But – we all lived thru it didn’t we!!?!! πŸ˜‰

    • I know! When I Googled I was blown away by some of the histories going back a couple hundred years even. Doesn’t make me stop thinking little ladybugs are lucky! Honey, we lived through things as kids that makes people today totally cringe. And I think we’re all the better for it!

  11. The ‘ready for flight’ image is an amazing moment and capture. Isn’t is interesting (in a good way) how some verses stay with us, seemingly forever.? πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Eric! So many rhymes from pre-preschool days are still with me. I can still hear the one my dad always recited. Okay, you didn’t ask for it but here goes! Make of it what you will: Mary had a little lamb, she tied it to a heater, and every time it turned around, it burned its little seater! vo do dodio dodio do cha! HAHAHA! πŸ˜†

  12. kerlund74 says:

    Wonderful capture of the ladybug taking of!

  13. Excellent catch of the “lady” getting ready to fly, Linda. I, too, wonder about some nursery rhymes as well as fairy tales. Fairy tales often were rather “Grimm.”

    janet

  14. cindy knoke says:

    Fascinating! Who knew?

  15. A lovely, fun post. Thank you. and the Ladybug.

  16. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Linda, I love ladybug! Here we have many of them in the spring and summer, they are everywhere, and when they come inside home or car, I’m always careful to take them and place on a plant, my kids do the same.

  17. yprior1 says:

    wow – super fun post – a few years ago I used to move some of the ladybugs around my yard to help them spread out. πŸ™‚ and I love the on the spot photos you were able to get – felt like we were there with ya – and the sun really does fade that color (lol) – oh and I agree about the nursery rhymes – crazy to hear some of the lyrics – like rock a bye baby – argh – so I used to change them. also, when my first son was bring and we started collecting books for him, I will never forget his face when he looked at a david and goliath book – it was rough – and so I learned that some of those bible stories (that are great – don;t get me wrong) but teaching them to little kids can be “off” – and some can terrify them – lol
    have a great day…

    • I felt really lucky to get the one where she was going to fly away. But she didn’t and when I was done, hubby took her and put her under a tree! I hope she was able to make it home because we had driven her about five miles! So true about fairy tales, nursery rhymes and, as you say, even some of the Bible stories can be a bit much for the little ones! Glad you liked the post. Here’s to a wonderful day! πŸ˜€

  18. Great post Linda and great photos!
    And do not worry about those gruesome nursery rhymes…children love to be scared but I am amazed too when I realize what I used to chant and sing;0) In The Netherlands (where I grew up) Ladybugs are symbols of sweetness and non violence and translated their name means The little animal of our Dear Lord, isn’t that sweet? When I lived in Canada, they were considered a nuisance indeed and when I got a big swarm in my house one day…I knew why: they leave quite some droppings and bite! Than again a group of Lady Bugs in England are called a Loveliness of Ladybirds.
    Well enough pondering about bugs in the morning;0) My own little animal aka Charley wants walkies. xoxoxo Johanna

    • What wonderful information, Johanna! I love that — the little animal of our Dear Lord. That is just the neatest! I always thought of them as symbols of sweetness and nonviolence, too! I’ve never had one bite me, though. πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for sharing this info. I hope you and Charley had a wonderful walk! ❀

  19. orples says:

    That second photo was a spectacular catch. I love the spread wings of the little lady bug. Lady bugs have always been a favorite of mine anyway, so double kudos to you! πŸ˜‰

  20. wonderful information- they are marvelous little creatures and how they lift their shields to reveal the true wings is the most beautiful captures I’ve ever seen!!

  21. gfchopstix says:

    Hi Linda, what a stunning photo! I’ve seen red and black and yellow and black ladybugs. I know the rhyme a little differently – “…Your house is on fire, and your kids are all home!”

  22. Imelda says:

    I like that capture of the ladyblug taking to flight. I never heard of the rhyme or the superstition until now. But I know that I am happy whenever I see a ladybug because it is very helpful in the garden.

  23. Paula says:

    Now, here’s the animal that brings good luck, but it is not needy πŸ˜‰

  24. Paula says:

    P.S. we don’t have any ladybug chants or rhymes here πŸ˜€

  25. We get lots of ladybugs here in central Ontario. Some springs our house is teeming with them. It’s not so great when they land in your morning coffee. We seem to have an overabundance the spring after a crop of soybeans has been planted. Some years ago I heard they imported some from Asia as natural pest control. I have seen a new color variety and they stink horribly when killed. Great post. I’ll have to look into that nursery rhyme further. Very interesting!

  26. Aquileana says:

    Caught in the moment (and in motion) ⭐
    Excellent post, Linda… Best wishes, Aquileana πŸ™‚

  27. Sonel says:

    Wow! What stunning captures of this cute little ladybird Linda! When you spoke about yours, I just had to go and look for it and I am glad I did. What a cutie! πŸ˜€

    I wonder what people thought when they came up with childhood chants like that? Like Rock-a-bye-baby as well. And I thought I was weird? πŸ˜†

    The ladybug video was awesome! I love these little critters and it always amazes me that they can hide those beautiful long wings so perfectly under those brightly coloured covers. Thanks for sharing it. πŸ˜€

    Around here we have lots of the Lunate Ladybugs and they work really hard, especially at the Blue Trumpet Vine that’s by the swimming pool. The aphids love that creeper and so do the bees and spiders. Lots of food for everyone and we don’t use any pesticides, so they’re all safe. πŸ˜€

    Thanks for this awesome share. I truly enjoyed. β™₯

  28. Thanks, Sonel! I’m so glad you came by. It’s so true about our childhood nursery rhymes. Rock-a-bye and Ring Around are the two that come first to my mind. I haven’t looked up the origins to the Rock-a-bye but apparently Ring Around the Rosey had its start with the bubonic plague when they were burning everything “ashes, ashes” and they were all “falling down”. Morbid AND grusome!

    But as for the ladybugs [ladybirds], they may have a weird chant about them but I love them. And I hear, and as you say, they make great pesticide alternatives! I don’t know how many varieties there are but apparently there are quite a few!

    Here’s wishing you a beautiful weekend! πŸ˜€

  29. rommel says:

    Such tiny specimen with so much to wonder about, eh. Thanks for the info. I didn’t know about those supertitions. I’m safe though for not being a lady bug killer. πŸ˜€ Very nice catch in picture of the ladybug ready to take flight. πŸ‘

Leave a Reply

