Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Pastels

Cee’s challenge this week is all about soft pastels.

Lake Apopka Sunrise

2014-10-08 Sunrise_Fotor

Grocery Store Bouquet

2014-10-02 bouquet_Fotor

 

For information on participating in this challenge and/or to view additional entries, please click on the logo.

cees-fun-foto

55 comments on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Pastels

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Oh your photos for pastels are so beautiful. What two very different types of photos too. Thanks for playing πŸ™‚

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Gorgeous Linda especially the sunrise. How are things going with the downsizing?

    • It’s slow going since hubby is doing most of it himself. We just finished some cosmetic work and painting in the kitchen. Got an electrician coming tomorrow for the new lights. Yay! We’ll be able to see again! πŸ™‚ Also have a dishwasher repairman coming tomorrow to fix our NEW 3-month old dishwasher. grrr — does not bode well. Sometimes the new electronics stuff is not always a good thing. I remember when you used to buy appliances and they lasted for 20+ years. Yeh, I’m that old! πŸ˜›

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Hang in there Linda. These renos take patience that’s for sure. If it helps my last washer and drier lasted 22 years. Apparently I’m that old too! πŸ™‚

      • Now that sounds like quality. When we went to replace our 8-year old dishwasher, the sales guy said that was really old for a dishwasher. Down with quality, up with quantity! These young ones have no clue of our frame of reference! πŸ˜›

      • prior says:

        have to chime in on this one – I agree – the new stuff is not like they Used to make back in the days – man I miss those days!! πŸ™‚

      • You’re not alone in missing those days, Y! πŸ˜€

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        Linda, I have a washer and dryer that are 26 years old and still going. I will NOT get rid of them because the new stuff is junk. Yes they have their quirks, but darn it, they work! Now that IS quality! I will only buy new when they die. The life span I think for something like this now is about 5 years. How sad. Love, Amy

      • Good for you. Just had the dishwasher repairman come fix our 3-month old dishwasher. He said the same thing — that appliances are only manufactured for a very short life span so people have to keep buying more. I think it’s plain thievery and they’ll get their comeuppance when it counts! That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it! πŸ˜›

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        What goes around comes around, Linda! I fully agree with you! The greed in this world today is shocking. I looked at a good pair of shoes the other day, and yes, they were made of leather, very good quality. I turned them over and I almost fell on the floor. The price tag said $149.00. I kid you not. I remember paying $75 for a good pair of shoes, and even then that was a lot. But this? For ONE pair of shoes? And if you don’t pay the price for quality you end up with junk. Some of the clothes in my closet that are more then 30 years old are better quality and in better condition then some hanging on racks as new. For real! I’m with you. I am really disgusted by what I see in this world. I now regret throwing out the things I did, never even thinking it would get this bad. (((HUGS))) Amy

      • I could really go on ranting and raving about the thoughts going round in my head but we’re both on exactly the same page and the world doesn’t need to hear me say it! HA! Oh, the crap they throw at us and call it merchandise. Oh, wait, I said I wasn’t going to go there, didn’t I?! Well, I guess I’d better go stuff some dinner in my mouth. That will shut me up for a while! Many hugs, dear friend! πŸ˜€

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        LOL You are too funny. Yup, time to focus on the glass half full (now where did I put that dang thing?) to get my eyes off the gross incompetence of this world. Thank goodness for flowers!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

      • And cats & dogs! πŸ˜†

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        OH, do I EVER have cats to focus on. Hehehehehehe And then some! (((HUGS))) Amy

  3. pambrittain says:

    You have a great eye.

  4. Brenda says:

    Beautiful as always I am so proud of you and your photos

  5. pretty, pretty, pretty pastels! great job!

  6. Amy says:

    So pretty! I love both photos. πŸ™‚

  7. WOWZA! Great shot of the pastel sunrise! How early did you have to get up to get that wonderfulness? :o)

    • Thanks! Well, we actually got up and out by around 5:30. We were trying to see the lunar eclipse but it turned out to be way too cloudy. So we went back home, had breakfast and, since we were already up, went back down to check out the sunrise around 7:00! πŸ˜€

  8. prior says:

    I also like the contrast of the two pics – the calm and set back shot of the lake – and I have never been to this lake and so it was great to see the shot. And then in the send lci you give is the full and up close shots – so nice πŸ™‚

  9. Lignum Draco says:

    Lovely photos, but the first one is so very beautiful.

  10. These are gorgeous pastels, Linda πŸ™‚

  11. The sunrise is spectacular and the flowers look otherworldly (I have to wonder if the supermarket is enhancing their color via dyes, strategic lighting, or something when I see them there sometimes!). Awesome pastels, Linda!

  12. LadyPinkRose says:

    Great shots, Linda, and what a contrast, from a calm water scene to a vibrant colored shot of flowers. FYI …. I got yelled at for taking pics in my grocery store for snapping some flowers. I even asked permission to take pics of flowers but um management never got back to me. Go figure …. Anywho …. great shots!!! Love, Amy

    • Thanks, Amy. Wow, doesn’t sound like a store I’d want to go back to. What did they think you were going to do? That’s ridiculous. For taking pictures?? It’s not like they had any kind of copyright on the flowers. Oh, don’t get me started….. :O Hugs to you! πŸ˜€

  13. works of art Linda!! Gorgeous!!!

  14. DG MARYOGA says:

    Delightful photos with gorgeous soft and bright tonalities ! Love the tranquility in the first lovely scenery and the rich,spiky petals of the flowers in the second one !
    Have a brilliant new week dear Linda πŸ™‚ ❀

  15. Gorgeous pastel colours for the challenge, Linda. The sunrise is beautiful. πŸ™‚

  16. Beautiful photo Linda!

  17. Paula says:

    Lovely colours πŸ™‚ I admire anybody that wakes up so early to catch sunrise πŸ™‚ I hope you will be able to relax soon Linda. This is true about appliances, the stuff we bought 20 years ago lasted for 10 years and new stuff can only manage to work properly for a year or two.

    • Thanks, Paula! That early in the morning doesn’t happen very often for me — it has to be deliberately planned! πŸ˜€ So true about the appliances. Even sadder when the sales and service people tell you it’s deliberate for more sales.

  18. Imelda says:

    So pretty, Linda. πŸ™‚

  19. […] Linda of Living with my Ancestors, Pastels : https://livingwithmyancestors.wordpress.com/2014/10/12/cees-fun-foto-challenge-pastels/ Walt of Rivertop Rambles, Spectacle Pond : […]

Leave a Reply

