Somewhere Over the Rainbow

EMMY

(08/28/2000 – 07/18/2014)

 My new home! I’m nervous and excited all at the same time. I was adopted from the FLORIDA POODLE RESCUE. I know I’m not a Poodle but don’t tell them! I a full-blooded Maltese! And the way things came together for the adoption and brought me to my new mommy and daddy, well, let’s just say it was meant to be!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I’m getting so used to my new home! I have a companion named Bobby (a Boston Terrier). These WERE his toys! A few more days and he’ll come to terms with who’s really the boss around here!  Play time!

12-29-00 Emmy

 Nap time!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Play time!

???????????????????????????????

 

Emmy_Fotor

 

Sometimes mommy wants me to pose for pictures. It’s not my thing, this sitting still…

Emmy B&W

 Me and my best buddies, Bobby (Boston Terrier) and Pippin (Poodle).

Dogs

 How’d you find me?

WakingUp_Fotor

I may be getting old but it does not take away my beauty!

Emmy2_Fotor

 

For us it was sudden and way too soon. For her it must have been coming on slowly but progressively. We just did not see the signs and she never complained — until the very end. This past month, she had begun to have trouble walking with her back legs. We thought it was probably arthritis setting in due to her age. So we put her on some liquid ArthriSoothe Gold by NaturVet. I only put the name in here because I believe it was helping her so I consider it a good product. Even though she was walking and getting around better, she was still moving slow. But Thursday night she just collapsed in the back yard. I thought she had experienced a stroke or something. All day Friday was spent at the vet’s office undergoing blood tests, x-rays, ultrasound, etc. That’s when we learned the truth. This little girl had not given us a clue. Her blood work was off the charts. This was the first time we had ever heard her moan. The vet said it wasn’t good. She suspected cancer (a mass in the liver showed in the x-ray). Our option would have been to subject her to a very long treatment period of hospitalization, surgery, etc. Even the doctor told us what she would do if it were one of her pets. We knew what had to be done. We weren’t ready but that was not what mattered now. We could not put this precious creature through that. Her eyes told us she was ready to cross that Rainbow Bridge and meet up with Bobby and her cat friends who had gone before to prepare the way. For her it was quick and painless and she was in the arms of both her mommy and daddy when she slipped away. For us, the pain will subside in time but the memories never will.

The Rainbow Bridge Source: Google

The Rainbow Bridge
Source: Google

 

 

 

44 comments on “Somewhere Over the Rainbow

  1. Oh, my sympathies to you–just a year ago my cat passed. She was almost 18. Give yourself much time to ease the loss and pain. It’s so difficult to lose a pet.

  2. Oh, what a sweet and terrible post, all in one. Delighted to see the new one, and terribly sorry to hear of Emmy’s passing. It has been two years to the date that I bid farewell to my 19 year old cat Joey. There’s still a void that resonates now with your sorrow.

    • Thanks, Maggie. It was a sweet and terrible effort to put together but one I needed to undertake. I’m sorry about Joey but it’s wonderful that he was with you for 19 years. They always take a piece of our hearts with them.

  3. fozziemum says:

    Oh Linda…I am so terribly sorry for the loss of your sweet Emmy…they do hide their illnesses well from us…there is nothing I can say that will ease your hurt…just that I know your pain and feel your sense of loss..i send all my love and hugs to your family as you all try and deal with this sad news..Bev ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Thanks so much, Bev. I do so appreciate your kind words. I know that so many of my blogging friends have experienced the same and relate. This is not my first loss nor will it be my last. But the sting is there all the same. Many hugs.

  4. She’s very cute, Linda. Thank you for rescuing her!

  5. And thank you for sharing a bit of her meaningful life here. I know this loss, all too well.

  6. DailyMusings says:

    I am so very sorry for your loss. What beautiful photos, what a wonderful life. I truly feel your sense of loss as I have been through it twice myself. Those memories will stay in your heart forever. ❤ ❤

  7. Imelda says:

    I am sorry to hear about your loss, Linda.

  8. Amy says:

    Very sorry for your loss. I have been through twice, I understand your pain…
    Hugs ❤ ❤

  9. babsje says:

    Aw, big tears. So sorry for your loss, thanks for sharing these delightful photo memories.

  10. pambrittain says:

    Sorry to hear of your loss. Those pictures are wonderful, especially the last one.

  11. I feel your loss!! a beautiful tribute to your friend and companion!! Hugs for you!!

  12. inesephoto says:

    So sorry for your loss… You had great years together. I am old so you can imagine how many darling pets I have lost. One day we will meet – kitties, doggies, birdies, all of us.

    • Thanks, Inese. I know, I have lost so many pets in my long lifetime — three in the past year including Emmy. It doesn’t get any easier that’s for sure. Like you, I believe we will all be together again! Hugs!

  13. rommel says:

    My condolence, Linda. I’m sure she spent her life in good hands, harmony, and company.

  14. Joanne says:

    Oh Linda – I write this with tears in my eyes for your loss – may the memories of your “poodle-wannabe-should’ve-been” wrap you in a blanket of love, easing your pain and lifting your heart. Jx

  15. Dear Linda, I am so sorry for your loss. Sweet Emmy had a loving and caring home with you and you must miss her terribly. Take your time with this sweety. I know how it feels…terrible! Love from Ohio, Johanna

  16. I’m so sorry; I sympathize with what you must be going through. It’s very tough losing such sweet devoted companions.

  17. elizz says:

    emmy is so cute.. i also have a maltese. it’s really difficult and painful losing a beloved pet.. my Johnny passed last may28 and i still cry whenever i think about him and how much i missed my boy.. if you want to read my tribute to johnny here’s the link. http://starlight427.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/in-memory-of-my-beloved-johnny-von-kelly-06nov2003-28may2014/

    • Thanks, Elizz. Yes, losing a pet is something that never leaves us. Johnny is beautiful. I’d say he’s probably met Emmy by now because she’s pretty much into everyone’s business! LOL! When I left you the link to this I didn’t realize you had already been by. Please excuse! Welcome and I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog! 😀

      • elizz says:

        i’m sure about that.. i think both of them are playing endlessly in the garden where there are lots of beautiful flowers and birds.. i could almost imagine them.. 🙂

  18. xaaragirl says:

    I am so sad for your loss 😥 She was soooo cute!

Leave a Reply

