Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge

This is week #34 in Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge. I’m featuring Bug this time.

Bug was a loner who showed up one day in 2009. I called him Bug because he had a mark on his nose that I first mistook for a bug! His look was “don’t come any closer or I’m liable to take a finger” when in reality he was a lover at heart! We never knew how old he really was but figured he’d been around the block a time or two. We had him checked out at the vet when he finally let us pick him up and didn’t find anything major in the beginning. Try as we might, we couldn’t get him to become comfortable inside the house. He was okay with the other animals but he just didn’t want to stay inside, so he became our first indoor/outdoor. Along about July 2010, we noticed something was not quite right. We took him in and it appeared he had a gum infection. We had a tooth or two pulled and put him on antibiotics. He seemed to rally. By September we knew something was terribly wrong as he developed a lump on his jaw. There really wasn’t anything we could do. I would never subject my animals to major cancer treatments so by October we were preparing for the inevitable. Bless his heart, he took the decision from us. The day we had scheduled to take him in to the vet, we found him in the front yard. He was quietly gone. He had not been gone long but he was gone. My only regret is that he was alone. He may be physically gone but he will never be forgotten. He has a place of honor in our backyard with others.

Bug3_Fotor

 

Bug4_Fotor

 

Bug2_Fotor

Source: Google

Rainbow Bridge

For more information on participating and/or to view additional entries, please click on the logo:

petchallenge logo

 

 

 

 

25 comments on “Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge

  1. sueslaght says:

    Bug was obviously a much loved and beautiful cat. So tough to lose a pet.

  2. daniellajoe says:

    Bug is a cutie 🙂

  3. acasadisimi says:

    Hi! dear friend!how are you? in Italy it rains so many days! it is very sad! I send you a kiss! Simi

  4. Gaurab says:

    When I saw the picture, I thought about asking why is he looking serious. I’m sorry to hear about him.

  5. very touching Linda!! Cats I think do pass with a great deal of dignity.I’m glad he had a good life with you!

  6. Amy says:

    He was loved… My little sweet doggy died last April. I’m still in tears when I think of her…

  7. Bug was a really beautiful cat. Thank you for sharing your memories of him with us…

  8. DG MARYOGA says:

    What a sweet post,dear Linda,and a great tribute to Bug ! He was so adorable,he deserved your love and your care. I know the bitter feeling … If you don’t mind,have a quick look at one of my past posts to see what I mean by saying, I know the feeling … Thank you, Doda xxxxxxx

  9. DG MARYOGA says:

    Thank you so very much for your sweet comments on Hermes’ and Heracles’ posts !!!
    You are so kind,my friend.Please have a look whenever you have the time to see my Edward’s post :

    Posting after a Long period of Aestivation & Hibernation …

    I would very much appreciate it,as this post means so much to me !
    Have a splendid day , Doda 🙂 xxxxxx

    • Dear Doda, I went to your post. Such a lovely tribute to a beautiful dog. I can understand completely why that post means so much to you. He was a beautiful animal. They never really go away, they live in our hearts and minds forever! And that’s a good thing! 🙂 Hugs!

      • DG MARYOGA says:

        Thank you so very much my sweet friend Linda 🙂 ! I know,you have a real animal love and that’s why I suggested you visiting the post.Your ” Bug ” post stirred up bitter-sweet memories … and I thought that we do share the same feelings.Once again,a big thank you ! Love and ((( hugs )))

  10. I just love that third pic Linda, what a great expression! 😀

Leave a comment