Phoneography Challenge: Nature

The first Monday of the month challenge from Lens and Pens by Sally is nature.

A couple of weeks ago I was sitting in my living room and heard a big ruckus in the back yard. I ran out because our neighborhood has some stray cats and I was afraid some vulture or something was attacking. Much to my surprise, I saw two large birds that looked like white owls, who were either fighting or mating, fall from the tree. When I realized, I quickly ran back into the house to grab my phone. By the time I got back out, one was flying away and the other one was waaaayy up in another tree. I zoomed my lens and quickly tried to catch him as best I could. He/she was so pretty. It’s just not a sight I see around here very often, especially in the day time. It was shot with my iPhone5 and just cropped a bit in Fotor. I realize it’s not a very good shot because you can barely see the owl and it’s blurry.

2014-02-14 13_Fotor

The next one is an early morning sunrise that was taken at Lake Apopka this past May using my iPhone5. I have not edited it. How many birds can you find? Can you find the alligator?

2013-05-27 06.19.35

For more information on this challenge and/or to view other entries, please click on the logo below!

phoneographybadge

30 comments on “Phoneography Challenge: Nature

  1. How fortunate–it certainly looks like a white owl. Nature has given you a real treat. And the last image is calming and serene (except that you mentioned the alligator). Happy Phoneography Challenge.

  2. I love spotting birds–hawks especially but owls every so often. Great catch.

    janet

  3. AmyRose says:

    Unbelievable! The cameras in these phones blow me away! I see TWO birds and ONE alligator in photo 2. Both shots are amazing, Linda! Whew, I got here!

  4. AmyRose says:

    You are tempting me to get a phone. An iPhone? OMKAT? And a five? I have NO clue, but man, now I am curious, because there are places I just cannot take my camera with me! But this? Where do I get one? I do NOT even have a cell phone, and that is the truth! Oh, my husband is going to wring my neck. Now a PHONE? We have taxes due!

    • I have an iPhone5. There are a lot of choices out there so you need to do your research as to what you want and need. Don’t forget, though, that with a cell phone comes a new monthly bill! 😦 But I must say that whatever you are currently using to take your photos, works wonders! I’m loving your pictures.

      • AmyRose says:

        I have a Canon D50, Linda. I am thrilled to hear that you are enjoying what I am creating. I am having a blast with my new macro lens, and have been reading a book on exposures that is giving me a ton of ideas. I am never bored with my camera. Always there is something new to learn and new combinations, or something. The more I learn, the more eager I become to know more. Not just sitting and reading and studying….no. I mean, reading or seeing something that is new and immediately applying it to what I am doing. I should start keeping notes come to think of it. I learn, then IF I don’t use what I learn, I tend to forget. (sigh) And now I am off to bed….Good night, Linda. It’s been a real pleasure for me in getting to know you. Lucky YOU for living by water!!! Love, Amy

      • G’nite! “See” ya soon! 🙂

  5. What a stunner of a sunset! Love it 😀

  6. Angeline M says:

    I can see the alligator!!! Yikes!

  7. FireBonnet says:

    I can see two birds…. and it’s a gorgeous photo! And the owl is awesome… what do you think a snowy owl? Doesn’t look like a greathorned owl.

    • Thanks, Meghan. I was thinking probably snowy owl but was a bit timid about naming it such since I know so little about it. But when I look at Google pictures, it sure matches. And I’ve read that more have come to Florida this year. Let’s just say, they’re definitely off the beaten path (and I’m so glad)! 🙂

  8. fozziemum says:

    Amazing…two birds one alligator 🙂 awesome 🙂 Hugs Fozziemum

  9. Hah, I think I found the alligator or his/her head slightly above water. And 2 birds 🙂

  10. Amy says:

    What an amazing shot! I saw two birds 🙂

  11. rommel says:

    Beatiful shot, Linda. I would love to chance upon an owl randomly.

Leave a Reply

