Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad

From the Daily Post:  Ah, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’.

Well, I did sport penny loafers, saddle oxfords, poodle skirts, bell bottoms, hot pants, leg warmers, etc. I just don’t happen to have pictures of all of them.  Some of them, yes, but I’ll spare you!  These old photos have faded terribly and I don’t have or know how to use any photo editing software such as Photoshop.  So, for now, these are as good as they get!

As you can see from the first photo, the style was the ever-popular polyester leisure suit. You can’t tell from the picture but my leisure suit was a bright burnt orange.  The second one shows the bell bottom jeans. Maybe not original but certainly up on the current style! Of course, I was wearing the ever popular “boat” shoes, now modernized and renamed such things as Wedges, Platforms, etc. The hair was the usual long, straight (as straight as I could get the waves) and parted in the middle! Ah, nostalgia…

Leisure Suit 1975

Leisure Suit 1975

Bell Bottoms 1975

Bell Bottoms 1975

For information on participating and/or to check out other FADS, click HERE.

40 comments on “Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad

  1. […] Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  2. kerbey says:

    When I look back at my 70s pics, they are all red as well. It was a red time.

  3. cindy knoke says:

    you are stylin ma deah!! i was in my first year of college….laughing!

  4. […] Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  5. […] Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  6. Imelda says:

    The first set is utterly ’70s, but the second one has a more timeless feel to it maybe because the colors are muted. If I remember right, the 70’s fashion had been revived. However, the pants were not called ‘elephant pants’ but ‘flared pants’ instead. 🙂

  7. smilecalm says:

    looks like
    my classmates 🙂

  8. ladyfi says:

    You rock the look!

  9. […] Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  10. […] Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  11. […] Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  12. […] Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  13. Sonel says:

    Sweet nostalgia indeed Linda! Beautiful photo’s and fashion style. I loved it. 😀

  14. gpcox says:

    As they say – just hang on to everything, eventually it’s called retro and gets back in-style.

  15. […] Daily Prompt: New Sensation – Fad « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS […]

  16. Amy says:

    Beautiful photos, made me smile…

  17. I love them. I’m remembering a few fad-ish items I wore and wondering if there is any photographic evidence… I hope so!

  18. rommel says:

    Nice tat you kept the pictures. Something to be really proud of. 😉

  19. toemailer says:

    We would love to post that at toemail if you do not mind? Was that in Florida? http://toemail.wordpress.com

  20. toemailer says:

    Thank you! We will let you know when it is posted.

  21. To which I could share photos of some hideous ultra-wide velour neckties. You could have easily wrapped a small child in them. These are wonderful. This reminds me of when I used to live in South Beach (Miami) before it was gentrified. Now they’re trying to replicate some of the very Art Deco that they so quickly leveled.

    • Omigosh, I remember those ties! What were we thinking! LOL! I love the Art Deco and it breaks my heart when I see people so ready to destroy beautiful things of the past. Thanks for coming by and commenting! 🙂

  22. I really like it whenever people get together and share opinions.
    Great website, continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

