Phoneography Challenge: Macro

The second Monday of the month at Lens and Pens by Sally is the Phoneography Challenge: Macro.  I picked a photo that I took last month at the Leu Gardens in Winter Park. This was part of the section highlighting arid plants. From the Leu Gardens website:

Arid Garden
This area displays a wide variety of plants that are drought tolerant. Many come from areas that are seasonally dry or from desert regions. Some types of plants found here include acacias, agaves, aloes, bromeliads, cacti, flowering trees, palms, succulents and yuccas.

2014-01-05 23.20.18

I love what Sally had to say on her post about macro photography. Her challenge has opened my eyes to some of the wonders around me that I probably would have just walked by in the past. This challenge has me trying things with my iPhone camera I wouldn’t have thought of!  I hope she doesn’t mind that I’m copying a statement from her but I love what she said:  “There is a moment when something is revealed and unveiled that truly stuns.” So very true!

For more information on this challenge and/or to view  more entries, please click HERE.

phoneographybadge

23 comments on “Phoneography Challenge: Macro

  1. Great subject for this week’s challenge–the soft petals of the succulent pulling us into the cactus and the tiny needles. Happy Phoneography Challenge.

  2. FireBonnet says:

    This is an awesome photo.You’ve captured the delicate coloring of the center succulent (we call them hens and chicks – you can see a little chick growing on the top left of it). And the other cactus winding towards us on the right and upper left is really cool (and pokey) and a juxtaposition to the softer center one.

    • Thank you, Meghan! I’ve always been a point and shoot kind of photographer and so many times with my iPhone I can’t even see what’s in the screen! Sometimes I get lucky! LOL! I really want to learn more about composition!

  3. Amanda Lakey says:

    Wonderful macro of succulents hun. and I know just what you mean, I also now see the beauty in everyday things, where i walked past before. Well done 🙂

  4. Amy says:

    Beautiful macro! Well captured, Linda!

  5. Congratulations!

    I have nominated your blog for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

    More about this nomination is at http://wordswewomenwrite.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  6. Sonel says:

    Great shot Linda. Love it. 😀

  7. fozziemum says:

    Great pic..succulents are great to shoot….especially if they have the morning dew on them..they catch it so well 🙂 Fozziemum

  8. giselzitrone says:

    So ein schönes Bild liebe Grüße und einen schönen Mittwoch.Gislinde

  9. Love the idea of succulents! but they don’t thrive over here. Glad you enjoyed that!

Leave a Reply

