Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge

This is my first time participating in Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge.  Since I have two dogs and five cats, I don’t think I will ever lack for photos!  I know I certainly don’t lack for challenges!  hee hee!  For my first entry, I have chosen my youngest female cat, Inky, who became fascinated by the TV on Monday.

For those individuals who don’t recognize the TV characters, they are from that ever-popular BBC series, DR. WHO!  I had never watched it but then Dr. Who things started turning up on various corners so we went to the TV to see what all the hoopla was about.  Shucks, I actually find I’m liking the show!  We’re only in Series 1 (which I believe was actually around 2005) so you can see we’ve got some catching up to do.

Please continue reading past the photo entries about an experience with Inky this past weekend.  I would love to hear from you with any suggestions!  Thanks in advance.

“YOU WILL BE EXTERMINATED”
“Dude, can you just exterminate the fleas?”

2013-12-30 20.39.13

“YOU WILL BE EXTERMINATED, TOO”
“Does she have fleas, too?”

2013-12-30 20.39.09

“WHAT??”

To participate in Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge or to view additional entries, please click HERE

petchallenge logo

Now, as indicated above, I want/need to share with you pet owners, in this case particularly cat owners, the experience we had this past weekend.  Here in Florida, as I’m sure in other areas also, we seem to be constantly battling fleas.  Years ago, I used Frontline.  It stopped working.  I switched to Advantage.  It stopped working.  I switched more recently to Revolution.  It didn’t seem to work that well, either.  So, this last go around, I got a newer flea topical from one of the veterinarians I deal with.  This topical (pesticide as they all are) is called ACTIVYL and is from Merck Pharmaceuticals.  Now, I realize from owning animals for years that incidents are few and far between.  But this last weekend, never having used Activyl, I had applied it to four of my five cats.  Next thing I noticed was that Inky started vomiting about 15 minutes or so after the application.  She seemed to stop vomiting after a couple of retches and, at the time, I never connected it with the Activyl.  After about maybe another 10 minutes, she began screaming and having seizures.  That not only terrified her but it terrified me.  She ended up having three seizures.  I thought for sure I was going to lose her.  Being a Saturday afternoon, none of my local vets were open.  I called the one emergency vet hospital that myself and some tech friends trust, and the tech told me to wash off everything I could with Dawn dishwashing liquid.  We immediately did so.  She was not having tremors so the tech was honest and said there probably wouldn’t be anything they could do at this point unless she gets worse.  She did calm down and not have anymore seizures.  The rest of the night, when she finally began to mobilize, she would try weaving through the house following along the walls like she had never been here before and like she was blind.  She probably was temporarily blinded because her eyes were so dilated from OD’ing that I doubt she could see much of anything.  By Sunday morning, she seemed to be about 90% improved.  She now seems to be back to her old self.

I don’t have to tell you how terrifying something like that can be.  I will stress that when you apply a flea repellent on any of your animals, please time it so that you are there and can watch them for the first 30-60 minutes and that should something go wrong (Heaven forbid) you can get to a vet.

Here is where I can use your help.  Does anyone know of, or does anyone have any experience with, natural or holistic flea remedies that work.  At the moment, I plan to use Dawn and/or Skin So Soft.  I know it will have to be done at least weekly but I’m now too afraid to use the pesticides anymore.  We’re lucky in that our entire home is tiled and we have leather sofas rather than fabric.  Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time in reading this and I’m grateful to any of you who have recommendations that have worked for you.

Thank you.  I'm all better now.

THANK YOU! I’M ALL BETTER NOW.

34 comments on “Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge

  1. Thank you for taking part. Your first entry is great. I think Inky looks so cute the way she watches TV.

    So sorry to hear about your experience. I recently read (have not tried it myself) that if you mix baking soda with salt and sprinkle in the areas that may have fleas, such as the pets beds, leave for a half an hour or so, then vacuum.

    I don’t think this can be used directly on the pet, but it might help in their beds. I also prefer natural remedies. Hope that helps.

  2. Be careful. Inky may go into your bathroom and start fighting the plunger thinking its a Dalek. Great post and Happy New Year

  3. So glad you are going back to the beginning (of the modern series). Things will make more sense. If you get adventurous, try watching some of the vintage episodes. Start with #4, Tom Baker. He was the longest running Doctor and a fan favorite. As an adult watching the old episodes, I have a hard time watching some of them although I loved them all when I was a kid.

  4. rabirius says:

    I hope the cat won against the Dalek.

  5. Awesome post! Well done.

  6. Sonel says:

    Great entry and photo’s Linda and I bet if the Daleks had fleas, Dr Who who beat them hands down. LOL! Love that series and watched all of them. 😀

    Sorry to hear about the terrible experience you and Inky had hon. That must have been terrible! Shame! I am just glad to see Inky is better.

    I saw a few online so you might try one of these:
    http://www.wondercide.com/evolv-natural-flea-tick-treatment.html
    Then there’s Diatomaceous earth – http://www.city-data.com/forum/cats/1914034-exactly-how-do-you-dust-cat.html
    http://blog.chron.com/fromunderthebridge/2013/02/cat-fleas-treating-inside-and-out-naturally/
    http://www.wikihow.com/Make-an-Herbal-Flea-Remedy-for-Cats

    The last one is a lavender based remedy and I think what you can also do there if you do make a mixture like that, is to add a few drops of Tea Tree Oil.

    Cats are so sensitive and even with Simba I must take care with his skin and I usually bathe him in Lavender and Tea Tree Oil. The Lavender helps for itching as well. 😀

    Take care hon. 😀 *hugs*

    • Sonel says:

      PS: When it comes to the essential oils, don’t use too much of it as cats can be sensitive to it as well. 😀

    • Wow! Thanks, Sonel. I immediately went and read up on that Wondercide Evolv spray. I located it here locally and will be going to the store later to pick up a bottle. Wish me luck! Thanks for your help and I’ll let you know how it works. If it does work as well as the reviews say, I’ll shout it from the rooftops! 🙂

      • Sonel says:

        Glad I could help Linda and I am sure it will work hon. Just the best for our furry kids and let me know. 😀 *hugs*

  7. gpcox says:

    You sound like I used to be with all the animals – no wonder we get along so well!

  8. Oh my…so sad that Inky had to go threw all of this. Our Dalton has had so much trouble too with these medications…we even had to go without for months, because we were so afraid to try any thing else.

    • Sorry to hear about Dalton. Those pesticides are definitely a double-edge sword. I’m going to try the Wondercide Evolv that Sonel put me on to as it is natural and has gotten excellent reviews. I’ll let everyone know how it works! Maybe it could work for Dalton, too.

  9. Jackie says:

    I’m so sorry you and Inky had such a scary and horrible time! What a relief that she is doing better. I hope the Wondercide Evolv works. I will keep you and Inky in my thoughts.

  10. rommel says:

    You got taking pictures of TV screen down. Nice job!

  11. colonialist says:

    That certainly was scary. Frontline worked for us for years, and the advantage was that it only needed to be applied to one of our pets to work. They seem to swich hosts a lot, and all of them would be wiped out. Then, of course, the fleas adapted.
    I’m not sure how readily available Rooibos (bush) tea is, but appilcation of that also does help.

  12. I never have fleas. Granny gives me Homeopathic remedies regularly, so the fleas are not attractive to me. You better see a Homeopath or Homeopathic vet for the Remedy, to make sure you get the right dose. We loved your photo story 🙂 Pawkiss 🙂

  13. rose2852 says:

    For us, there was a direct correlation between the removal of fitted carpets and a dramatic decline in our cats’ flea populations. We rarely see fleas on our cats these days,even in summer (they’re all short hair, btw). Another factor, I think, is that they do not come into contact with other animals who may have fleas (our back yard is escape proof). In the bad old days of fleas, I used to sit the cat down on my lap and pick her over, then squash the fleas between my fingernails. There is something rather satisfying – and not a little perverse – about the sound of a flea being exterminated in this way!

    • I know! Florida is notorious for fleas. Our whole house is tiled and we have a large screened in pool area where the cats can go outside. It’s gotten better since we started using Evolv Natural & Organic Flea & Tick Control from Wondercide. It’s easy to spray on the dogs. We have to sneak up on the cats! 🙂

Leave a Reply

