Phoneography Challenge: Night Photography

Super Moon 6-22-13

Super Moon 6-22-13

Super Moon 6-22-13

Super Moon 6-22-13

Super Moon 6-22-13

Super Moon 6-22-13

Super Moon 7-23-13

Super Moon 7-23-13

Super Moon 7-23-13

Super Moon 7-23-13

These were all taken on my iPhone 5. The ones I took back in June were actually taken the night BEFORE it was supposed to be the Super Moon. Silly me, I got my days mixed up. Then when the actual night came, I had forgotten all about it. Oh, well. The pictures taken July 23 — yes, Tuesday morning, not Monday night — were taken sometime between 4:30 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. Once again I had forgotten to go out on Monday night and check it out. I just wanted to play around with the camera phone. I really didn’t think I’d get anything to show up since there are no settings on the phone and I don’t have a tripod or anything. Of course, it was overcast both nights. After all, this is Florida in the summer. None of the photos have been retouched other than some cropping. I realize they’re not very good but how good can it be on a camera phone in the dark?

This week’s challenge from Lens and Pens by Sally is a Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Portraiture, Still Life, Street Photography, and Travel. Please click on the italicized link above to see more entries.

17 comments on “Phoneography Challenge: Night Photography

  1. Delighted that you selected night photography. each one has its quality of hope and mystery. Nicely done. Happy Phoneography Challenge.

  2. gpcox says:

    You sure have a better phone camera than I do.

  3. Rusha Sams says:

    Impressive! I don’t get very good results with my iPhone at night. You’ve encouraging me to try again! http://ohtheplaceswesee.com

  4. Flora Poste says:

    Hey Linda, ‘not very good’??? I think they are delightful and even somewhat mysterious. They remind me of early children’s book illustrations. Big like from me ;0)

  5. High five! I did night photography too and yes the camera phone is not too good at it. Hur hur hur~ Thanks for sharing how the moon looks like at your end of the world! 🙂

  6. Sheryl says:

    The pictures are wonderful. I’ve never tried doing night photography, but your success motivates me to give it a try.

  7. rumpydog says:

    I like the feeling I get from those photos. Somewhat spooky but not scary. Somehow lonesome.

Leave a Reply

